Skip to content
September 1, 2011 / rocksandgravel

Wonderful Things

Wow, just wow. Whilst I was backstage earlier in the day, I spotted her sat at a table with a cigarette in her hand and wrapped up in a jumper despite it being a balmy day. I was kind of awestruck. It has been said time and time again, but this girl is 21. 21 and on her third album, writing as if she’s at least 20 years older than that and living a century ago.  Given the opportunity to watch from backstage, I decided to stand in the crowd where we stood pretty much at the front anyway, and barely a peep came from the main stage crowd that filled every nook and cranny just to hear this tiny, gorgeous little creature and what she had to say. She walked on stage with a drink in hand and greeted the crowd with a shy smile. There was no intro, no dithering, she simply picked up her guitar and cooed into Rambling Man. At the risk of sounding soft (I don’t care) I felt a lump in my throat and gazed on in awe- just gorgeous. It takes me back to the line in ‘Love Actually’ when Emma Thompson, referring to Joni Mitchell, says ‘this woman taught me how to feel’ and the same applies to Laura. The new songs from ‘A Creature I Don’t Know’ that she played seemed simply a continuation of sheer brilliance, and it could not have been a more perfect setting- sun set on a warm summer’s day in the midst of the Welsh valleys. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

