Skip to content
November 28, 2011 / rocksandgravel

Happy Sigh: The The – This Is The Day

I heard the original version of this the other day and breathed a big, nostalgic sigh, but mainly because its at the end of Empire Records (I’m not sure I was alive when it was first released) in the scene when they’re dancing on the roof of the shop having saved it from being taken over by a chain; essentially sticking it to THE MAN. IN YOUR FACE, MAN. Yeah. Once I saw it at 11 years old, all I wanted to do was be a teenager and work in a record shop in the states… that didn’t quite happen but by gah it is marvellous and, if you reeeeeeeeally think about it, there are parallels to be drawn to the current state of the industry, and morals to be learned. Sort of. Well bah it is my ultimate fave, and it delivers some undeniably sharp remarks:

“Why don’t you shove it up your ass?”

“Because, that would hurt, Warren”

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. journeymantojo / Dec 13 2011 10:00 pm

    Wow! My inner angst-ridden, damn-the-man, high-schooler totally says thank you for this trip down that road. Loved the movie and the soundtrack was pretty sweet too. Dated a girl who turned me onto this one and it was all she wrote. Put down the Nirvana/Pearl Jam cds and started listening to a broader choice. That was the day….my life had surely changed! (See what I did there?! lol)

Leave a Reply

